Sarah Tucker and Madelyn Ray Named 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Two Kosciusko County students have been named recipients of four-year, full-tuition scholarships to the Indiana colleges of their choice as the Kosciusko County 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars. The 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are Sarah Tucker and Madelyn Ray.

Sarah Tucker is a senior at Tippecanoe Valley High School. Her parents are Chan and Nicole Tucker of Mentone. At the time of her application, Tucker was ranked fourth in her graduating class. Her school activities included: Future Farmers of America, Track and Field, Student Council, Farm to Fork project, and National Honors Society. Her community activities included: Mentone United 4-H Group, Beaver Dam Youth Group, and Kosciusko County Youth Leadership Academy. Tucker accumulated over 280 volunteer hours. Her volunteer activities included serving as a camp counselor, on mission trips, fundraising for various causes, and volunteering with 4-H. She has also worked as a farm hand, a waitress and as a data processor for a dentist’s office. Tucker’s references described her as an exceptional leader and young lady of the highest character and integrity. Tucker plans to attend Purdue University to study Agricultural Business and Economics.

Madelyn Ray is a senior at Warsaw Community High School. She is the daughter of Thomas and Kathleen Ray of Warsaw. At the time of her application, Ray was ranked fourth in her graduating class. Her school activities have included: swim team, golf team, tennis team, Students for Life, Future Christian Athletes, Tiger Student Athletic Board, and Mathletes. Ray’s community activities have included: Warsaw Education Foundation, Octagon Club Member, Sacred Heart Church altar server, and Key Club. Ray recorded nearly 200 hours in community services including fundraisers for Warsaw Education Foundation, for her church, with a community clothing closet and with a local soup kitchen. She has also worked at Stonehenge Golf Club and as a restaurant server. Ray’s references described her as kind, compassionate, and as a servant leader. Ray plans to attend Butler University to study biology/pre-medicine.

In Kosciusko County, the Kosciusko County Community Foundation recommends recipients of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for final selection. The local process is “blind” in that committee members do not have access to student names when reviewing the applications. Scholarship selection criteria include academic excellence, community service, extracurricular involvement, work experience, references and essay response.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

Lilly Winner Tucker

Sarah Tucker (holding envelope) is a 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

The scholarships are a result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Lilly Endowment Inc. is an Indianapolis-based philanthropic foundation created in 1937 by three members of the Lilly family – J.K. Lilly Sr. and sons J.K. Jr. and Eli—through gifts of stock in their pharmaceutical business, Eli Lilly and Company. The endowment supports the causes of community development, education and religion.

Lilly Winner Ray

Madelyn Ray (2nd from left) is a 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.